ForneyLife

Our Technology Age

Posted in Life, Technology by Meredith on April 28, 2011

This is a little thought bubble that I’m having as I sit here.  Andy and I are planning a wedding 3,000 miles away.  To get there, we use a lot of planes, trains, automobiles, and these days we do it all with the help of internet tools like yelp, etsy, weddingchannel, google docs, you name it!  And guess what!  We are even doing our pre-marital counseling over Skype!  That’s right!  Pastor Tom is conducting our first counseling session tomorrow morning at 7am (PDT) over skype!  How amazing is that?!  We live in an age where planning a  wedding and preparing for marriage can be done mostly from the comfort of our own homes.  Crazy!  My mind is just a little blown by this so I wanted to get it out there in the universe.  Any thoughts?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sarah said, on April 28, 2011 at 8:12 pm

    I love this! And I love that you are sharing these thoughts with your family in Pennsylvania, Illinois, DC, North Carolina, and California simultaneously, all through the beauty and wonder of technology. It’s truly amazing.

    As mind-blowing as technology can be, it still doesn’t quite compare with actually being together — something I was reminded of this past weekend! But it does keep the metaphorical threads of connection wound a little tighter, and makes so many things in life infinitely easier (coordinating, communicating, searching, finding, getting directions, shopping!… etc…)

  2. Andrea said, on April 28, 2011 at 11:46 pm

    Wow. Yes, very cool, Mer. Very cool. I think about that stuff sometimes. It’s crazy how connected we are in so many ways 🙂 I love you! Good luck with marital counseling tomorrow!!!


Leave a comment