ForneyLife

Homemade Crackers

Posted in Food, House and Home, Life, Pictures, Recipes by Elizabeth on May 1, 2011

I was writing a comment on Sarah’s Cookie Cutter post when I realized that my response was going to be in depth and might be better in a post.

I too have no cookie cutters but, on a recent trip to Sperryville, VA, I was reminded of Heidi Swanson’s idea to rummage at flea markets or antique shops for things like cookie cutters. At an antique shop we happened upon in Virginia, there were lots of dishes, silverware, and other kitchen knick-knacks like those copper pots above. (There was also a 2 qt. cast iron dutch oven for just $15! If I didn’t already have a 3 and 5 qt dutch oven, that sucker would have been mine!) I hunted for some cookie cutters but came up empty. Anyway, some of the best metal cookie cutters are probably found at places like these – not to mention that they could be a steal.

In place of cookie cutters, things like a pastry wheel or pizza cutter are quick easy substitutes. You may not get the fanciest shapes but it gets the job done.

As for homemade crackers, I love this idea and have a number of recipes logged to try. Here are just a few:

Whole Wheat Goldfish Crackers by Smitten Kitchen (she uses a drill bit for the eyes and mouth – too funny!)

Graham Crackers by Smitten Kitchen

Oatmeals Crackers by 101Cookbooks

Whole Grain Animal Crackers by The Cilantropist

If anyone makes any of these, or comes up with innovative cookie cutter replacements, fill us in here!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Sarah said, on May 1, 2011 at 7:34 pm

    This is awesome – thanks, Elizabeth!
    Although I don’t think I’ll be breaking out the power tools anytime soon (drill bits = hilarious), I love the suggestions to be creative and resourceful in the kitchen. We’ll have to compare notes on our crackers once we’ve had an opportunity to test drive these various recipes!

  2. Changing Lifestyles said, on May 1, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    Excellent post today! I really enjoyed it. I enjoy making great food for my family and friends when they come over for entertainment. Food can also be entertaining in itself. Thanks again for sharing this.

    A Delicious Coffee Roll Recipe


Leave a Reply

