ForneyLife

Make it Easy: Can o’ Beans Bowl

Posted in Food, Recipes by Sarah on January 16, 2011

The other night I adapted a recipe from The Kitchn that was incredibly easy and ended up being very tasty and filling.  It’s a simple black bean bowl spiced up with a little cilantro, lime, and cumin.  Here are the basics:

Can O’ Beans Bowl

Ingredients:

One 15-ounce can black beans
1/2 lime, juiced (or lime juice)
1/2 cup fresh cilantro leaves, chopped
1 small shallot, diced
2 teaspoons ground cumin
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Directions:

Mix all the ingredients together (no cooking required)

The recipe I adapted from is here.  Here’s what I did differently:

  • I added a can of white cannellini beans, drained (to make it a black & white bowl)
  • I used black bean soup that I had on had, as drained as it could be (next time I’ll try a can o’ beans instead)
  • I added more cumin than the recipe called for, because I love that spice
  • When serving, I added in chopped chicken that I had broiled the other day

This recipe is incredibly easy and flexible.

No cooking, one bowl, easy ingredients, healthy results.

Other ingredients  on the healthy side that I imagine would be tasty in here include:  cherry tomatoes, peppers of any color, corn, adobo seasoning, chili powder for a kick, and you may think of others!  If today is your splurge day, go ahead and add cheese and sour cream, too.

Serve on its own, over brown rice, quinoa, or another favorite grain.  Added bonus:  it’s good hot or cold.  Enjoy!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mom said, on January 17, 2011 at 2:14 pm

    FYI: I learned yesterday that adding a PINCH of baking soda to dishes made with beans helps cutail the gassy aftereffects!!!


Leave a Reply

