ForneyLife

Chickie Soup

Posted in Food, Recipes by Elizabeth on November 17, 2010

The other day I soaked and cooked some of my dried garbanzo beans I got at Eataly back in October.  These really are much better than canned, I have to say.  The process is long and takes some planning so I’m not totally chucking the can, but when I can remember, I will be buying, soaking, and cooking dried beans.  I enjoyed my previous batch in lots of salads.  This go around I made about a cup and a half.  I stumbled upon a 101cookbooks recipe that included banzos and I was sold – it would be lunch for the next few days.

I added chicken thighs to the recipe and increased the amounts of everything else.  A certain food eating monster in my house requires more food than the average recipe produces.  I call this monster Adam.  The recipe below has the original measurements from 101.  Adjust as you see fit.

1 large yellow onion, chopped
a splash of olive oil
a couple pinches of salt
2/3 cup uncooked bulgur
1 14-ounce can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed; or dried soaked and cooked
4 1/2 cups vegetable stock
1/2 cup orange juice
1 1/2 cup cauliflower, trimmed into small trees
2 cup kale or chard, destemmed and cut into thin ribbons

olive oil for finishing drizzle
red onion, chopped for garnish

bulgur

In a large pot over medium-high heat saute the onion in the olive oil along with the salt – for a minute or until the onion begins to soften a bit. Stir in the bulgur – like you would toast arborio rice. I also stirred in my chicken thighs here. Stir in the chickpeas and the stock. Bring the ingredients to a simmer. Cook for another few minutes, it should start to thicken.

Taste to see if the bulgur is cooked through, if so add the orange juice. If not, simmer for a couple more minutes before adding the juice. The orange juice gives the soup just a bit of sweetness while adding some acid. I enjoyed the juice but Adam said he wouldn’t miss it.  Perhaps next time I will leave it out. Stir in the cauliflower and the kale as well – simmer another few minutes, until the cauliflower is just tender. If the stew is on the thick side, thin with a bit more water or stock. Season to taste. Serve garnished with a drizzle of olive oil and red onions.

Leave a Reply

