ForneyLife

Nothing Gold Can Stay

Posted in Food, Recipes by Elizabeth on July 29, 2010

In what turned out to be an honor to Robert Frost, I created a gold loving summer salad.  Early this week I roasted some golden beets.  Quickly, I’ll explain how I roasted the beets – it is too simple not to do yourself.  Preheat your oven to 400.  Get your beets, cut the top leafy part and the bottom skinnier root part off.  Wash the beets as best you can, they usually come nice and dirty.  On a baking sheet spread out some aluminum foil and set the beets in the middle.   Drizzle olive oil over them and season with salt and pepper.  Pop these babies into the oven for 1-1 1/2 hours (depending on the size).  Once roasted, let them cool and then peel and cut them.  These keep in the fridge for about two weeks.

So back to my golden beets.  I added them to some arugula (I was generous with my beets – I can’t help it, I love them).

To this I added some quartered strawberries, thickly sliced almonds, and goat cheese.  For dressing I used golden balsamic vinegar, a touch of olive oil, and, of course, salt and pepper.   This golden salad accompanied some saffron rice and seared salmon for dinner.  

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Patti N. said, on July 29, 2010 at 8:14 pm

    This sounds delicious (and I love the Frost reference too)!

  2. Meredith said, on August 6, 2010 at 7:23 pm

    That sounds so good! 🙂 Love it and shared it with a friend. Thanks, Elizabeth!


Leave a Reply

