ForneyLife

Nike Plus!

Posted in Health and Fitness, Technology by Sarah on July 28, 2010

If you have a pair of Nikes and you run or walk, I highly recommend getting yourself a Nike+ sport kit. I just got one and am using it to track my runs.  It’s got a little transmitter that lives in your shoe.  The transmitter sends your running info to a little receiver that can be plugged into just about any iPod (or if you’ve got an iPhone, it syncs right to it!)

After your run, you plug your device into the computer and it shows your whole run!  All your data is kept on your own personal space on Nike’s website, where you can keep a little running diary.  The run-tracker shows your pace and distance as well as your slowest and fastest points.  Today I took it for a test run and I ran 30 minutes and 4.3 miles (yes folks that’s a 7:05/mi. pace).

My favorite thing about this is that it takes the memory guessing-game out of my runs.  I like to run several times a week but by the time I get home I don’t really feel like writing down exactly how far I ran in exactly how much time.  This will make it much easier to keep track of my progress.  The site offers a lot more that I’m still in the process of checking out (maps, challenges, goal setting, running coaches etc…)  But after today’s test-run, I give Nike plus the thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

