ForneyLife

Smooooothie Operator

Posted in Food by Sarah on July 19, 2010

This past week I have been bonding a lot with my blender, making a variety of fantastic smoothies for breakfast.  They’ve been so flavorful, fresh, and filling that I had to share them all with you!

Berry Smoothie

First, is the tasty mixed-berry smoothie.  I haven’t come up with a clever name for this one yet.  This simple fruity treat has just a few ingredients:

– Frozen mixed berries (mine comes with strawberries, raspberries, blueberries and blackberries)
– plain greek yogurt
– 4 ice cubes
– a splash of water
– a splash of soy milk
– a few dashes of ground flax seed

Whip it all up in the blender for a few minutes and you have a delightful purple beauty of a berry smoothie.  I added 1 scoop of protein powder before I blended all the ingredients, to get my post-workout protein in.  When it was all blended, I poured it into my travel mug and had a perfectly portable breakfast to go!

PUMPkin It Up

Second, the pumpkin protein smoothie:

I got this recipe from a great little blog I discovered a month ago called, Peanut Butter Fingers! The girl who writes it is totally adorable and her energy and enthusiasm for life (and good food!) is totally contagious!  I found her blog a few weeks ago when I was craving pumpkin in July and realized I’m not the only weirdo who looooves pumpkin any month of the year!

Ingredients:

1/3 c. canned pumpkin (not the pumpkin pie mix)

1 scoop natural protein powder

1 frozen banana

5 ice cubes

1/2 c. water

a few shakes of pumpkin pie spice (her recipe calls for more, but I can’t handle all that spice!)

    Blend and in a few minutes you will have a cold refreshing taste of fall!

    Third, the banana smoothie: 

    The Bad ‘Nana Jamma!

    This was originally an attempt to make the banana custard on Peanut Butter Fingers’ site.  It didn’t quite turn into custard, but it was still reallllllly tasty.  And goes really well with the strawberry rhubarb topping I made the other evening (recipe to come later this week…)

    For this, it’s quite simple: 

    – a frozen banana, chopped up
    – frozen and then slightly thawed plain greek yogurt (my freezing/thawing process did not quite work)
    – 1 scoop protein powder
    – a dash of vanilla soy milk
    – a little bit of water

    As you can see from the photo, I made this one in the food processor (my blender had been working so hard I decided to give it a break).  The original recipe also calls for xanthan gum, which would give the mix a nice smooth thickness, and probably make it a little more custard-y.  Mine is much more of a banana smoothie, and still tastes great!  I’ll try the custard again one of these days, but for now I will enjoy this bad ‘nana jamma!

    2 Responses

    Subscribe to comments with RSS.

    1. Elizabeth said, on July 20, 2010 at 9:22 am

      These look great – a perfect way to stay refreshed on the long sweltering summer days we’re having here on the east coast. Might I suggest a name for the berry smoothie? I think “Berries N’at” could be fun :).

    2. Sarah said, on July 20, 2010 at 8:09 pm

      Love it! A tribute to the ‘Burgh with a Berries N’at smoothie.
      Now that I think about it, come football season we may need to put our heads together and come up with a sweet Steelers smoothie. This will be a challenge for two reasons: 1) Edy’s Steelers’ Sundae (with chocolate footballs filled with peanut-butter) will always take the cake and 2) what fruits, veggies, or other smoothie items are black and/or gold?!


    Leave a Reply

