ForneyLife

Reading rainbow

Posted in Life by Sarah on June 30, 2010

These past few weeks I have finished two whole books!  That’s a lotta reading for this chic, who usually doesn’t want to read one more thing when she comes home from a long day of reading at work.

First, I finished Windy City, by Scott Simon.  It’s a novel about Chicago, framed around the political tumult that ensues in the week or so after the death of the very popular mayor, and the adventures of the mild-mannered Indian alderman who takes the position of interim mayor.  It was interesting, but not enthralling.  As much as I love Scott Simon, I didn’t looove this book.

The second book I read was Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen.  I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it!  I was afraid the book would be a little dull because it is about a family of five girls in 19th century England whose primary focus in life is on who they are going to marry and when.  It seemed a bit shallow to me at first, but the main character, Lizzy, is so interesting and complex – her assertive personality is really compelling, particularly when the other characters in the story are introduced.  She’s a little bit of a spitfire and the dynamics of the sisters together is something I think we can all relate to!  On top of all the characters, the story takes some really interesting plot twists, which made the book really fascinating.  I could hardly put it down! I’d definitely recommend it, if you haven’t read it.

But, as Lavar Burton said, “You don’t have to take my word for it!”

Next on my list is The Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri.

So…. what do you have your nose buried in these days?

Leave a Reply

