ForneyLife

Love your hair

Posted in Beauty by Sarah on June 24, 2010

Love your hair!

I have been going to a hairstylist, Shannon, for about a year now and she has introduced me to a new way to care for my hair:  sulfate-free shampoo.  First, a  few things about Shannon:  she started out specializing in curly hair, her focus is now on “soft and natural” hairstyles (she also cuts hair using the “dry-cut” method, which is exactly how it sounds).  So, her advice can work for all of us natural & sometimes curly-haired gals.

Shannon has convinced me to begin using sulfate-free shampoo.  Sulfate-free shampoo is shampoo that doesn’t contain Sodium Lauryl Sulfate or Sodium Laureth Sulfate (SLS).  Sulfate-free shampoos also tend to be made of natural and sometimes even organic ingredients.  Shannon explained that the sulfate in shampoos is an extremely strong cleanser – unnecessarily strong.  In the past few years, there’s been discussion in the “hair world” that washing your hair with sulfate-containing shampoo can damage your hair and scalp, and can be potentially drying.

Now, maybe San Francisco has made me a little crunchy, but I have really noticed how healthy sulfate-free shampoo keeps my hair!  It still washes your hair but it uses much gentler ingredients to do so.

I use shampoo from this great line of hair care products called UNITE (btw – somehow they’ve managed to make almost all of their products smell ridiculously delicious).  It may be on the pricey side and I get it at my salon but I’ve noticed a number of other options that might be a little more wallet-friendly and are available in places other than my cute little salon.  These brands include Abba, which sells at Walgreens, Alba, available at Whole Foods (though not all Alba shampoos are sulfate-free), Burt’s Bees Herbal Treatment & Grapefruit/Sugar Beet Shampoo (CVS & Walgreens), even mom’s old favorite brand, TIGI, makes sulfate-free shampoo.  I haven’t tried all of these, and I understand that not all sulfate-free shampoos are the same.  And, although the shampoo I use from Unite creates a pretty nice lather, you may notice that the lather is not as super-sudsy as you’re used to.  This may take a little getting used to, but it is only because you are using gentle soap, not supah-strong detergent, on your hair.  Check it out & give your hair some love!

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Elizabeth said, on June 24, 2010 at 8:08 pm

    I too have heard this same advice. My salon sells DevaCurl shampoos. My friend Jenna swears by them. You can check out their products (they also sell diffusers) and Deva retailers here: http://www.devaconcepts.com/


Leave a Reply

