ForneyLife

a quick fix meal

Posted in Food by Elizabeth on April 27, 2010

Last night I came home from work and was pretty hungry (as usual).  But I was also tired and ready to relax, not quite in the cook a big meal mood.  To solve my dilemma, I made a tasty little salad(it was actually quite big).  After noting what was in my pantry and fridge (cucumbers, tomatoes, cannellini beans, and a red onion), I picked up some basil, fresh mozzarella, and a little baguette.  So basically I combined everything.  I chopped the cucumber, toms, and mozz nice into nice chunky pieces.  In went about a quarter of a diced red onion for a little bite (opt for some scallions if you’d like it mild).  I added about half a can of cannellini beans.  This was a nice addition for the protein that I wanted, but was nice on the wallet (versus a steak, or even chicken).  While all this was going on, I also reduced some balsamic vinegar and toasted a few slices of baguette drizzled with olive oil.  Finally, I tore up some basil (I like to tear the basil rather than chop it since it is easily bruised when chopping), dressed the salad, added salt and pepper to taste and voila!  In just about 10 minutes I had a tasty and filling dinner – even without meat!

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. skf115 said, on May 16, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    BTW. I forgot to mention when I read this how delicious this sounded. I’m curious about reducing balsamic vinegar. Any tips? Also, I’m sure you are using a good quality sea salt, correct?. Love that the dish is veggie. Thanks for the idea.

    • Elizabeth said, on May 19, 2010 at 9:45 am

      Thanks for reading! Tips for reducing balsamic. Well I think first you have to remember that you’ll reduce to about half the amount you originally put in your sauce pan. So if you’ve just got one salad, don’t over do it on the balsamic or you’ll just have lots of dressing. It’s pretty low maintenance though. When I made this one though I did take the liberty of adding a teaspoon or two or sugar. This helps to smooth out the sometimes too strong flavor of a reduced balsamic. But that’s just for my taste buds. The salt I used was not your average iodized salt, you are correct. We happen to have a nice Himalayan salt in the house right now that I used. It is nice to have some fancy finishing salts. When seasoning during the cooking process (which didn’t happen in this salad since it was all raw) I like to use Kosher salt. And then the fancy stuff at the end. mmm!


Leave a Reply

